Windows Screen Positions Move on Reconnecting to XenDesktop from the Same Client

Windows Screen Positions Move on Reconnecting to XenDesktop from the Same Client

Document ID: CTX127078 / Created On: Oct 26, 2010 / Updated On: Oct 26, 2010
Average Rating: not yet rated
View products this document applies to

Symptoms

In XenDesktop, if you disconnect and reconnect from the same client machine, windows and their positions should remain the same. Sometimes when reconnecting from the same end point the windows can move onto the primary monitor.

When you reconnect to a XenDesktop session, it reads the contents of the following registry key.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Citrix\PortICA\UxPersistence]

For each client endpoint, a subkey is visible:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Citrix\PortICA\UxPersistence\UserDeviceName]

Cause 1

If the Virtual Desktop Agent software cannot write information to this registry key then persistence fails.

Cause 2

If you connect from a different client name, persistence is not honored. This can sometimes occur when using Web Interface to override the client name.

Resolution 1

Caution! This procedure requires you to edit the registry. Using Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious problems that might require you to reinstall your operating system. Citrix cannot guarantee that problems resulting from the incorrect use of the Registry Editor can be solved. Use the Registry Editor at your own risk. Back up the registry before you edit it.

Check the following registry key

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Citrix\PortICA\UxPersistence]

"PersistenceSettings"=dword:00000001

By default this is set to 1. If for any reason this is 0, persistence is not enabled.

Also, you can use a tool like Process Monitor to check if there is any access denied messages while trying to disconnect from the Virtual Desktop Agent.

Resolution 2

In Web Interface, check if the override user device names setting is enabled. If this is the case, this problem can occur because the Virtual Desktop Agent believes the connection is coming from a new client and it moves windows to monitor 1.

Open the Web Interface Management Console.
Right click on the site and choose session preferences.
On the right, click on User device names.
Clear the Override user device names setting.

Check if this setting has taken effect in the Delivery Services Console.

Connect to your Virtual Desktop Agent after changing this setting.
Open the Deliver Services Console and choose the desktop group you are testing against, change the drop down button on the left hand side to Virtual Desktops In Use.
Click the Choose columns link on the right hand side.
Select the check box named Endpoint Name.
Refresh the console by pressing F5 and you should see the client name which is connected to the Virtual Desktop Agent. If the setting has not been cleared, you typically see something like “WI_” followed by a number of characters.

This document applies to:

XenDesktop 4 x32
XenDesktop 4 x64

Desktop Delivery: 
Powered by Drupal